Holiday Crafts · Recipes

Easter

The Easter bunny was kind enough to pay us a visit this morning and drop some Easter eggs filled with treats on our lawn.

I had bought some plastic fillable Easter eggs and filled them with stickers, bubbles, chocolate eggs, and play dough and scattered them around our yard for the boys to find. The Easter egg hunt wasn’t something that I did as a kid, but my husband did and its a tradition I was eager to start for my kids. I fun and active and the look on Spencer’s face when he found the first couple of eggs was priceless.

In addition to the Easter egg hunt, we also planted jelly beans in our garden (yesterday). Magically, overnight, they grew into lollipops. Lucky for us it didn’t snow like the forecast predicted and we were able to do our hunt and lollipop harvest outside but you could also plant some jellybeans in a pot indoors.

For our breakfast menu, I stuck with easy to make recipes, that took little or no time to prepare. I baked a ham in a brown sugar glaze (recipe at the end of this post), cut up some fresh fruit, baked up some cinnamon buns (courtesy of the Pillsbury dough boy….its ok to cheat once in a while right?) and deviled eggs. My father-in-law brought over his world-famous crustless Quiche and we also had cupcakes, and bunny pops for desert.

I couldn’t find the stackable marshmallows used in Positively Spendid’s tutorial so I just cut a large marshmallow into quarters and used them for the bunnies ears and I also omitted the cute ribbons, but if I were to give these out for treats, I would definitely add them to finish the bunny pops off.

Here is my glazed ham recipe, which is perfect for holidays like Easter, but also makes a great dinner main as well.

Brown Sugar Glazed Ham

-bone in ham

Score the skin of the ham and bake, cut side down, 20 min/lb covered in foil @ 325 degrees F.

For the last 1/2 of cooking, uncover ham and pour glaze over the scores.

Glaze

1/2 c. apple cider vinegar

1/2 c. packed brown sugar

1/2 c. honey

1 tsp dry mustard powder

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

Slice and serve.

Leave a Reply

