parties · Stampin'Up

little mister party invitation

My little-est mister is turning 1 in just a week. I still can’t believe a year can go by so quickly. Just a year ago today I was in false labour for the 2nd time in a week…and it continued like that till our little Oliver decided it was finally time and I went into “real” labour on April Fools Day…thank goodness he made it out @ 12:10am on April 2nd. He’s been keeping us on our toes ever since:)

Using my little mister party inspiration I created his birthday party invites this past week. We did a photo shoot in our dining room a couple of weeks ago with some props courtesy of my husband’s closet and some party supplies I bought, once again, off the clearance rack at Stampin’ Up!

 

I wanted to use the colors in the party hat for the theme colors of the party and party elements so I chose navy, lucky limeade and pool party. I also wanted to make sure to use my Many Mustaches stamp….its too cute for words.

front of invites and envelope

For the front of the invite I used my Top Note die (for the Big Shot) to cut out the lucky limeade top note, and I created mini mustaches on a stick. I stamped the mustaches on a white piece of cardstock, cut them out and used the cut out as a template. I then traced and cut out the mustaches onto brown, “blonde” and black cardstock. Hot glued those onto a lollipop stick and hot glued the whole thing to the front. It gives the invite a 3 dimensional feel and really sets the tone of the party right off the hop.

I also stamped the ties in pool party ink on the envelope, to add a little detail to the envelope, which otherwise would be just white.

I double mounted the pic we chose to use for the invites and did the same for the invitation wording, although I used lucky limeade for the pic and pool party the wording. I created the invite wording on Word, using Helvetica font, but I can’ t take credit for the wording. I found another great blog that I used for inspiration.

I’m currently working on some decor to use for the party and I have some great ideas for take home goody bags and will post on those next!

Leave a Reply

