diy · Home Decor

diy envelope pillow covers

On a trip to the fabric store earlier this week (to finally commit to a fabric for my french chair re-upholstery project) I found a gorgeous fabric that I knew would look fantastic on our reclaimed yellow couch.

I bought a metre of it and instantly recalled a tutorial from Teal and Lime for the easiest envelope pillow covers I have ever come across. They are essentially a length of fabric folded into thirds and the side seams are closed, similar to a bed pillow cover that you have to insert the pillow and fold over a flap to close it up.  Jackie mentioned how quickly she sewed the covers and I am all about quick projects so I thought I would give her tutorial a try instead of making a traditional pillow cover (with 4 seams).

Now, Jackie is a tad more accurate with measurements on her post, me…..not so much. The perfect length for this pillow cover is the width that the fabric comes off the roll at the fabric store, this left me with only one cut to make (well 2, because I made 2 pillow covers).

This is the way I roll…I layed my old pillow cover on top of my new fabric (which I folded in thirds) and cut..with a little extra (say 1/2 inch) on the sides. Forgive my lack of accuracy but I hate measuring things…..numbers in general confuse me.

this pic shows how I figured out my envelope fold lengths

Once I had my fabric cut to the right size (using my old pillow cover as a template) I finished my envelope edge seams and again, right sides together eyeballed my envelope fold ( I took Jackie’s suggestion and created deep folds, this ensures the pillow is smooth, even in the back). I pinned it in place and took it back to the sewing machine.

I made sure to finish the side seams with a zigzag stitch to prevent fraying, depending on your fabric you can skip this step but I LOVE this fabric so I wanted to make sure it was going to hold up though the wash.

I stuffed my old couch pillows into my new envelope fold pillow covers and was amazed. Literally, 15 minutes start to finish for one pillow.

back of the pillow, showing the envelope fold

This tutorial has revolutionized the way I think about pillow covers. I thought they were easy before, the old 4 seam way, but this envelope fold is incredibly easy and a beginner with a sewing machine can tackle this project in 30 minutes no problem.

4 thoughts on “diy envelope pillow covers

  1. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.

    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

