Home Decor · mantel

finally…spring mantel reveal

I am finally ready to post my spring mantel reveal. I put it off simply because I wasn’t happy with it till now. My poor husband can attest to my frustration with it for a solid 2 weeks now. Everynight I would attempt to “arrange it”…switching out accessories with fury and standing back and staring at it till my head hurt and then finally going to bed defeated. I tried to take inspiration from many of the blogs I regularly follow, and I love their mantels, but I didn’t want to spend any extra money on accessories, I wanted to use the accessories I already had.

I planned on using my diy topiaries but they have since found another home…in the kitchen.

I made the bunting for the mirror by cutting 3 inch circles (with my circle cutter) out of left over scrapbook paper (it coordinates with my family message center bunting;). I folded the circles in half and arranged them on a strand of pool party bakers twine. I borrowed the tinted bail jar, filled with “yellow bells”, from the kitchen. I liked the pop of bright yellow next to the dark stain on the mirror. Next to that I have a small apothecary jar filled with Eggies (chocolate candies in the shape of easter eggs)…which my husband warned me will probably need a refill within a few days. The antique white birdcage was a purchase from Michaels…50% off course, and inside it I placed a plant in an aqua colored pot that I found at the dollar store. The crackle painted bird was part of my spring mantel last year and I had planned on giving it a fresh coat of colored paint but Jon showed some interest and said he liked it crackled…”gives it interest.” So he remains…..crackled.

On the left side (our mantel is unnecessarily large…hence my frustration with decorating it) I kept it simple with the elements that we normally have on display, the plant (which I can’t seem to kill like all my other houseplants), a family photo, and mercury glass pillar candle holders. I did add the spring bunting placed in a picket fence style basket.

I used my pennant punch and type writer font stamps in coordinating colors (I spelled out “spring”) and strung them onto more bakers twine which I then tied onto cooking skewers. Inside the basket is a block of floral foam and I covered it with a square of faux grass from the dollar store. Both the basket and grass were part of my display last year as well.

On the right side is my moss word art and fresh tulips in a large apothecary jar….couldn’t resist picking those babies up this week at the grocery store. Gives this side of the mantel a nice fresh pop of color and adds height to this end.

So there it is, my spring mantel….finally.

Leave a Reply

