diy · Home Decor

a little sunshine for the door:)

As I attempt to spruce up our main living space for spring, adding pops of color where I can, our entry way was lacking in the color department. I love wreaths (for all seasons) and I thought I would make myself a spring wreath to hang on the inside of our front door (it’s not quite spring outside…yet).

I bought a grapevine wreath at my local Michael’s store when they went on sale for $4 and hit up my local Dollarama (notice a theme here?) for some faux “yellow bells” (forsythia – a type of spring blooming shrub). I picked up 8 branches but only ended up using 7 of them,  which was plenty of coverage for the wreath.

I broke up the branches into 8 somewhat equal pieces by first scoring the plastic coating with scissors and then bending the wire back and forth until it snapped.

the branches broken up into 4 pieces. I broke each one again in half = 8 pieces

I then just pushed the branches into the grapevine wreath, working my way around. I was fully prepared to wire the branches in or to have to use brown floral tape but it didn’t need any extra securing. I surprised myself on how quick it went and how dramatic it was once finished.

It was exactly what the entrance needed for a pop of color and the whole project was done in about 15 minutes. I love quick and pretty.

diy spring wreath

I’m sharing this project on

One thought on “a little sunshine for the door:)

Leave a Reply

