Holiday Crafts

sweet breakfast for your sweetheart (s)

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I decided to start the day off by treating my boys to a very special (and very sweet) breakfast. There is always something magical about eating heart-shaped food and it’s almost as if you can feel the love that went into the preparation of it when it comes in a fancy shape.

I started out by arranging the strips of bacon in heart shapes on a cookie cooling rack, placed on a lined baking sheet. I always bake my bacon (@ 375 degrees F. for about 10-15 min.) on a cookie rack, its faster, less mess (I usually line the baking sheet in tin foil which just gets tossed in the garbage leaving a clean baking sheet after cooking, but I was out), and you don’t have to stand over it to make sure it’s not burning on the stove top. Plus this method allows you to make heart-shaped bacon;)

bake your heart-shaped bacon on a cookie cooling rack

I then moved onto to cutting off the stems of the strawberries and cutting a v-shape into the tops of them before slicing them all up…leaving magical heart-shaped strawberries.

Lastly I made my pancake mix (I’m not going to lie, Aunt Jemima helped me out in this department). I use a 1/4 c. measuring cup to ladle the batter into the pan and I just poured it into a heart shape and sprinkled with chocolate chips. Flip and you’ve got yourself a chocolate chip heart pancake.

This heart-shaped meal is perfect for a valentine’s day breakfast, dinner (I love breakfast for dinner), or really for any day of the year that you want to make your loved one(s) feel extra loved:)

heart shaped breakfast
Leave a Reply

