diy · Holiday Crafts · Home Decor · Stampin'Up

valentines day mantel

I check a few blogs on a regular basis and took my inspiration for my valentine’s day mantle from them. I normally don’t decorate for valentine’s day but I seem to decorate for every other holiday so why not valentines this year as well.

There are so many great ideas floating around out there for diy decorating for valentine’s day I thought I would try to incorporate some of them in my own mantle decor. I love the idea of a holiday specific printable. I saw so many great ones for Christmas and likewise for valentine’s day I knew I wanted one for our mantel. I took advantage of Stampin’ Ups! free trial offer of My Digital Studio Express and printed myself one in the colors I love most. Cherry Cobbler, Pool Party and Blushing Bride. I framed my printable in a shadow box frame I had lying around.

I love fresh flowers…like alot. I would have a fresh floral arrangement in my home everyday if I could, and I do often, just not everyday. I saw some very pretty tulips while grocery shopping with the kids earlier in the week and I grabbed a couple of bunches. I also happened to be perusing the candy aisle and came across the classic valentines candy hearts and I remembered a pin I had seen on pinterest. I used the candy hearts as a vase filler for the tulips.

I placed the tulips in a tall narrow glass and inserted the glass (with tulips) into my large hurricane vase. I then poured in the candy hearts and turned the vase as I went so they would fill in the space between the glass and the hurricane vase evenly. So cute and so simple.

To add another “heart” element to the mantel I took an antique frame that I had picked up from a flee market (the same one where I picked up my owl). I removed the hand painted picture of a little girl with a basket (yuck) and inserted my string of hearts. With my small heart punch, I punched out the hearts from last years valentines designer series paper (yet again, another clearance rack purchase. I am a bargain hunter.) and arranged them in a line (using a ruler to make sure the lines of hearts were some what straight). The frame is an ivory color with rosettes carved into it that have a slight blue and gold tinge that you can’t really see in the pic but it works really well with the Pool Party blue in the valentines printable.

I also made an oval-shaped heart wreath(out of the same valentines dsp as the string of hearts art) which I had hanging on our front door but it looks better on the mirror above the mantel. The last element is the very cute and very cheap garland I found at Superstore. For $3, you can’t go wrong. I would have made my own but I fell in love the with cute little birdies on it, which Spencer now refers to as “love birds”:)

So there is my valentine’s day mantel…I am sure next year the valentines decor will make its way through our house in a larger scale but I think this is a pretty good start.

3 thoughts on “valentines day mantel

Leave a Reply

