diy · Home Decor · Stampin'Up

family message center

When I first came upon pinterest, like many newbies, I was so overjoyed and overwhelmed at the same time I hardly knew what to do with myself. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing, fantastic diy ideas, home decor, great recipes, beautiful things in general. My mini mental vacation.

One of the first ideas I ever pinned was a diy dry erase message board made out of a picture frame. My jaw literally dropped at the simple idea of using the glass as the dry erase board. Why hadn’t I ever thought of that before? Well, that’s what pinterest is for. A place where great minds share great ideas.

So I went out to Dollarama, bought myself a black frame (for an 8×10 matted pic) and made myself a dry erase board.  I had originally backed it with some christmas themed scrapbook paper for the holidays and that’s the magic of a picture frame, you can change it as often as you like.

Once it was up I didn’t love the shape of the frame, in black next to the new paint color on the walls, so I sprayed it with an antique white spray paint. Instead of going for a 3rd coat I decided I liked the “antique” look of the black just showing through on the edges so I only did 3 coats. I then backed it with a natural canvas (from the scrapbook paper section in Michaels) and put it up.

I stood back and looked at it and it was still missing something. Inspired by a card (this years christmas card, cased from Heather Summers) I made myself some bunting out of leftover teal, and yellow scrapbook paper and my favorite Stampin’ Up product right now, Pool Party bakers twine. The pennants were punched out with my pennant punch and strung up. So pretty.

Thank you pinterest:)

2 thoughts on “family message center

  1. Hi! Visiting from tt&j. How cute and simple! I have something similar.. but its not nearly as adorable. Im going to have to spruce it up now 🙂

    Im going to poke around your site some more.. if you get a chance I would love for you to share this at my Friday link party 🙂

Leave a Reply

