diy · Home Decor · kitchen

I heart my kitchen rooster

I am not sure when my obsession for chickens and roosters started but I’ve been fond of them for a long time…especially in kitchen decor.

If it wasn’t for my level-headed husband who quite often “pulls me back” in the decor area I am sure that my kitchen would be littered with statues, serving dishes, and pictures of my fine feathered friend. I will also admit I have romanticized the notion of having my own live collection of chickens, at my French countryside cottage….along with some goats and sheep.

I do try to sneak in some poultry decor items every once in a while, my white porcelain chicken & rooster salt and pepper shakers  are so cute and no matter the occasion they are always welcome to adorn my table. Prior to painting the house Driftwood Grey , I had painted picture of a few chickens and a rooster pecking at some grass in very Van Gogh style, but after the paint job the colors in the painting just didn’t flatter the paint on the wall.

While browsing Apartment Therapy one morning I found an article on kitchen art and came across my new love. Le Coq. He was perfect and I quickly thought of how I could recreate him.

I recreated him using cardstock, cutting out all the pieces and assembled them to make him the size I needed (poster sized). Instead of cutting out the white rectangular pieces for his chest I used an exacto knife and cut out the rectangular pieces out of the red cardstock. He turned out better than I thought and is a welcome addition to my kitchen.

I knew I didn’t want to back him onto just white paper, I envisioned a linen or some sort of textured fabric but in my laziness I never made it to the fabric store. So as an experiment I simply turned over the poster frame insert and to my delight it was the same shade as linen. He looked fantastic against the linen shade so I closed it up and my husband mounted him into the wall.

I am so happy with the end result and with the money saved. All in (supplies and poster frame, which I got on sale 55% off) I spent $25. A steal for a substantial piece of art for a kitchen.

One thought on “I heart my kitchen rooster

Leave a Reply

