diy · Holiday Crafts · Stampin'Up

crafty stockings

During Stampin’Up!’s recent Online extravaganza I purchased some super cute fabric, for a super low price ($5).

Candy Cane Christmas Designer fabric has very simple patterns and modern christmas color combinations, the perfect fabric for my new christmas theme (red and white). Its a color combination I haven’t been able to do but thanks to my new updated neutral paint colour, Driftwood Grey, I’ve embraced red and am putting pops of it everywhere.

I thought long and hard with what to do with my new fabric and my mom suggested making some new stockings, perfect! My husband has wanted a new “homemade” stocking for years and with my Candy Cane Christmas fabric, I made 3, one for each of my “boys”. (Pardon the pic with the wrinkly fabric but I was just too excited and had to hang them up asap.)

To make the stockings I simply traced my white velvet stocking onto the new fabric, made a cuff with the red felt (and vice versa for the red felt stocking) and sewed it all up. That way all the stockings are the same size and shape.

I kept my pretty white velvet stocking, I couldn’t bear to part with it, its too pretty, but I did make all the stockings matching tags. I cut out a tag shape from some left over red felt that I stitched a border around and punched out myself a decorative label and handstamped our names with Real Red ink. Added a couple jingle bells and wahla…matching tags that make all the different “handmade” stockings work together.

So glad I picked myself up this designer fabric and I can’t wait to work with this product again…oh the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

