diy · parties · Stampin'Up

A toddler birthday

When my baby’s 2nd birthday was approaching (6 months in advance…because I am a planner that requires tons of research time and ideas to put any type of event together) I began brainstorming with my husband for a theme. Lucky for us our son Spencer has very obvious interests, he is boy in every sense of the word, loving dirt and cars but the 2 most precious things in his world are his monkey named Tom and his beloved tractors.

We chose construction trucks as the “theme” (my husband seems to share this passion with our son) and off I was to google images of construction truck cakes and birthday party decor. I found the most amazing website to use as my inspiration,

http://stylemegorgeous-bysarah.blogspot.com/2009/11/diggers-dump-trucks-birthday-party.html.

With these images as my reference I ordered my stamp set (I dig you), paper & ink (crushed curry…from the clearance rack for the very specific shade of construction yellow, because my husband and his attention to detail would inspect  it thoroughly)  from StampinUp.ca and I began creating the elements that would become the birthday party of my wittle monkeys dreams (his 2 year old dreams that is).

I Dig You - Clear-Mount Stamp Set - by Stampin' Up!

http://www.stampinup.com/ECWeb/ProductDetails.aspx?productID=122722

birthday invite

Candy and balloons were chosen in the theme colours of yellow, orange and brown and I even found a galvonized pail to serve snacks in for that “construction site” feel. I had a great time constructing Spencer’s birthday invitations, birthday banner, party favor tags and food signs with the stamps but I think the most fun and most anticipated project was going to be the cake. Delightfully simple to create but it was the party element that I knew would have the most impact.

candy, cake pops and treats
birthday banner
snack table

I used Martha Stewart’s One Bowl Chocolate cake recipe and chocolate frosting and my cake decorating skills (those Wilton cake decorating classes came in handy after all!) to create the base of my “construction site” and one of Spencer’s John Deere dump trucks. A heaping pile of cookie Clodhoppers and smushed Reese Peanut Butter cups carefully mortered together turned into the “dirt” that I carefully dumped out the back of the dump truck and onto the cake pedestal. The end result was impressive and of course our toddler loved it, quickly asking for us to remove the truck so he can “play?”

http://www.marthastewart.com/340315/one-bowl-chocolate-cake

Dump Truck birthday cake

The party was a success but the best part for us was watching Spencer have “Happy Birthday” sang to him with the biggest smile a 2 year old could have. Its hard to believe its been 2 years already but its been the best 2 years of our lives.

Love & Thanks

Susan

birthday boy
Leave a Reply

